Lüen-Castiel & Calfreisen

From the wild Plessur river all the way up to the Montalin

The three villages Lüen, Castiel and Calfreisen are spread out over three levels, from the bottom of the valley at the wild Plessur river all the way up to the Montalin mountain peak. The history of the three villages could not possibly differ more, but all three of them are the gate to the municipality of Arosa.
Lüen-1.jpg | © Arosa Tourismus / Nina Hardegger-Mattli


Also known as the „Schanfigg Riviera“, Lüen has a mild climate that is favourable for grape, kiwi and apricot cultivation. The village lies along the train tracks Chur – Arosa and is the first station after Chur. The big village fountain forms the centre of Lüen. Around the fountain are noble and imposing wooden houses arranged in a traditional style (Strickbauweise) to create a picturesque village-scape. An old trading route leads from Lüen down to the Plessur river and on the other side of the valley to Praden. 

Dörferweg Schanfigg | © Arosa Tourismus


Castiel has been populated exceptionally early. Various pre-historic phases of settlement and Roman colonies were discovered on the crest of the hill Carschlingg above the church. The showpiece of the village is the house Podestà, commonly known as the „Tobel-Hus“. It was built in 1916 for the president of the disctrict Luzius Schmid and is said to be the most beautiful house and one of the most valuable architectural monuments in the Schanfigg valley. The village lies along the bus line Chur-Peist. It takes about 30 minutes by foot from the train station Lüen to Castiel.

Dörferweg Schanfigg | © Arosa Tourismus


Calfreisen is located on a sun terrace secluded from the cantonal street and can be reached within 15 minutes by foot from the bus station «Calfreisen» along the Chur-Peist route. The small, picturesque village has a wonderful village centre with numerous old wooden houses built close to each other. The houses have been carefully maintained and renovated. The village Calfreisen is listed in the register of “village sites of national importance” (ISOS). The mountain Montalin (2,266m), close to the city of Chur, is a nice excursion destination in summer as well as in winter. The view from the peak on the Grisons Alps and the Grisons Rheintal is simply breathtaking.

Village Association Calfreisen
Kirche-Lüen-3.jpg | © Arosa Tourismus / Nina Hardegger-Mattli

Church St. Zeno Lüen

According to the foundation deed the plain little church in Lüen was built in 1084 by Roman and independent farmers in honour of Bishop Zeno, the city saint of Verona. The reason why this church is mentioned in many art guides becomes clear once you enter the building. The mural paintings from the workshop of the Waltensburger Masters represent impressively vivid images of the lifespan of Jesus Christ.
Kirche-Castiel-1.JPG | © Arosa Tourismus / Nina Hardegger-Mattli

Church Castiel

On one of the hills with the best views resides the protestant village church of Castiel. It was built in a late gothic style with an old image of Christopherus on its east side. In the old days, when the path along the valley was exposed to falling rocks, travellers stopped at the church to ask the patrons for safety and protection before continuing through the gorge. Thanks to the new bridge over the Castiel Tobel, which was inaugurated in 2004, the passage has become much safer.
Carschlingg Castiel (10).JPG


Excavations have shown that Charschlingg has already been populated in 1,500 BC. In the 70ties scientists found settlement remains and objects from the Middle Bronze Age (ca. 1,600 -1,300 BC) from the Iron Age, the Roman Era and the Early Middle Age. Among other findings, archaeologists discovered an intact bronze helmet from the Iron Age. The village Castiel is officially mentioned for the first time in 1132 by the name of Castellum. On the hill Carschligg, above the church, is now the school building Castiel.
Calfreisen-Foto-Homberger.jpg | © Foto Homberger


Castiel is characterised by agriculture. Farm shops offer rich produce and when stopping for a bite at the Restaurant Pasunna you can meet locals as well as guests.
Calfreisen-6.JPG | © Arosa Tourismus / Nina Hardegger-Mattli

Castle Ruin Bernegg

The landmark of Calfreisen is the castle ruin Bernegg. It was mentioned for the first time in 1231 and was the residence of the gentlemen of Calfreisen. A document from 1312 names the deceased R. quondam dictus de Kafrais (Calfreisen). The name belongs to the Schanfigg village aristocracy and was in the service of baron of Vaz and the diocese of Chur. In the 15th century the Grisons noble family Von Sprecher became the owner of the castle Calfreisen. It was only then when the castle was called „Bernegg“. The stone wall of the tower forms a rectangular shape of ca. 11m on 13m. Originally the tower was 15 m high and had 4 floors.
Fotos_NM_AT_28005-059(1).jpg | © Arosa Tourismus / Nina Hardegger-Mattli

Schanfigg Alpine Trail

The Schanfigg Alpine Trail can be accomplished in six one-day stages and leads along marked hiking routes above the timber line all around the Schanfigg valley. Walking through fragrant Aline meadows, across small creeks, passing loving, crooked, tanned houses means relaxation for body and soul. And the impressive mountain scenery is the best reward for accomplishing the trail by foot. On the Peister Alp you meet grazing cows which take a bemused look at the passers-by. Charming cabins and traditional guesthouses along the hiking route invite hikers to linger and spend the night.

Strap up your hiking boots


Discover Arosa

During the winter and the summer season there are plenty of happenings in Arosa! The mountains, the village and the lake offer unlimited options. Browse through the numerous topics and find your favourite activity.