Lüen / Castiel / Calfreisen

From the wild Plessur river all the way up to the Montalin

The three villages Lüen, Castiel and Calfreisen are spread out over three levels, from the bottom of the valley at the wild Plessur river all the way up to the Montalin mountain peak. The history of the three villages could not possibly differ more, but all three of them are the gate to the municipality of Arosa.
Lüen  | © Nina Mattli

Lüen

Also known as the „Schanfigg Riviera“, Lüen has a mild climate that is favourable for grape, kiwi and apricot cultivation. The village lies along the train tracks Chur – Arosa and is the first station after Chur. The big village fountain forms the centre of Lüen. Around the fountain are noble and imposing wooden houses arranged in a traditional style (Strickbauweise) to create a picturesque village-scape. An old trading route leads from Lüen down to the Plessur river and on the other side of the valley to Praden. Still today, this trail is used during the summer months to bring cattle to lush pastures at Alp Urden – a spectacle that presents itself twice a year at the end of June and at the end of September.

Castiel | © Nina Mattli

Castiel

Castiel has been populated exceptionally early. Various pre-historic phases of settlement and Roman colonies were discovered on the crest of the hill Carschlingg above the church. The showpiece of the village is the house Podestà, commonly known as the „Tobel-Hus“. It was built in 1916 for the president of the disctrict Luzius Schmid and is said to be the most beautiful house and one of the most valuable architectural monuments in the Schanfigg valley. The village lies along the bus line Chur-Peist. It takes about 30 minutes by foot from the train station Lüen to Castiel.

Calfreisen  | © Nina Mattli

Calfreisen

Calfreisen is located on a sun terrace secluded from the cantonal street and can be reached within 15 minutes by foot from the bus station «Calfreisen» along the Chur-Peist route. The small, picturesque village has a wonderful village centre with numerous old wooden houses built close to each other. The houses have been carefully maintained and renovated. The village Calfreisen is listed in the register of “village sites of national importance” (ISOS). The mountain Montalin (2,266m), close to the city of Chur, is a nice excursion destination in summer as well as in winter. The view from the peak on the Grisons Alps and the Grisons Rheintal is simply breathtaking.

Village Association Calfreisen
Calfreisen  | © Nina Mattli

Castle Ruin Bernegg

The landmark of Calfreisen is the castle ruin Bernegg. It was mentioned for the first time in 1231 and was the residence of the gentlemen of Calfreisen. A document from 1312 names the deceased R. quondam dictus de Kafrais (Calfreisen). The name belongs to the Schanfigg village aristocracy and was in the service of baron of Vaz and the diocese of Chur. In the 15th century the Grisons noble family Von Sprecher became the owner of the castle Calfreisen. It was only then when the castle was called „Bernegg“. The stone wall of the tower forms a rectangular shape of ca. 11m on 13m. Originally the tower was 15 m high and had 4 floors.
Kirche Lüen  | © Nina Mattli

Church St. Zeno Lüen

According to the foundation deed the plain little church in Lüen was built in 1084 by Roman and independent farmers in honour of Bishop Zeno, the city saint of Verona. The reason why this church is mentioned in many art guides becomes clear once you enter the building. The mural paintings from the workshop of the Waltensburger Masters represent impressively vivid images of the lifespan of Jesus Christ.
Kirche Castiel | © Nina Mattli

Church Castiel

On one of the hills with the best views resides the protestant village church of Castiel. It was built in a late gothic style with an old image of Christopherus on its east side. In the old days, when the path along the valley was exposed to falling rocks, travellers stopped at the church to ask the patrons for safety and protection before continuing through the gorge. Thanks to the new bridge over the Castiel Tobel, which was inaugurated in 2004, the passage has become much safer.
Calfreisen  | © Nina Mattli

Hospitality

Castiel is characterised by agriculture. Farm shops offer rich produce and when stopping for a bite at the Restaurant Pasunna you can meet locals as well as guests.
Kraftwerk | © Nina Mattli

Power Plant Lüen

Lüen – a place of power with a power plant. Since 1914 the power plant Lüen produces energy from hydropower. Even after over 100 years, one of the first turbine generator groups is still turning with 50 Hz and produces clean energy. In 1983 Aroa Engergie took over the Lüen power plant and offers guided tours through the plant.
to the power plant
from
  • Weather in Arosa
    On the mountain
    wetter.Icon.1
    -10°C
    In the valley
    wetter.Icon.1
    -4°C
  • Operating Hours

    Cable Car Weisshorn Arosa
    daily 15. June - 21. October 2018

    Cable Car Hörnli-Express 
    daily 30. June - 21. October 2018

    Urden Aerial Railway
    Arosa Lenzerheide

    daily 7. Juli - 19. August 2018
    daily 5. - 7. September 2018
    daily 8. - 21. October 2018

    Weekends
    25. August - 7. October 2018

  • Panorama Map Summer & Ticket Shop

Discover Arosa

During the winter and the summer season there are plenty of happenings in Arosa! The mountains, the village and the lake offer unlimited options. Browse through the numerous topics and find your favourite activity.