Lüen-Castiel & Calfreisen
From the wild Plessur river all the way up to the Montalin
Also known as the „Schanfigg Riviera“, Lüen has a mild climate that is favourable for grape, kiwi and apricot cultivation. The village lies along the train tracks Chur – Arosa and is the first station after Chur. The big village fountain forms the centre of Lüen. Around the fountain are noble and imposing wooden houses arranged in a traditional style (Strickbauweise) to create a picturesque village-scape. An old trading route leads from Lüen down to the Plessur river and on the other side of the valley to Praden.
Castiel has been populated exceptionally early. Various pre-historic phases of settlement and Roman colonies were discovered on the crest of the hill Carschlingg above the church. The showpiece of the village is the house Podestà, commonly known as the „Tobel-Hus“. It was built in 1916 for the president of the disctrict Luzius Schmid and is said to be the most beautiful house and one of the most valuable architectural monuments in the Schanfigg valley. The village lies along the bus line Chur-Peist. It takes about 30 minutes by foot from the train station Lüen to Castiel.
Calfreisen is located on a sun terrace secluded from the cantonal street and can be reached within 15 minutes by foot from the bus station «Calfreisen» along the Chur-Peist route. The small, picturesque village has a wonderful village centre with numerous old wooden houses built close to each other. The houses have been carefully maintained and renovated. The village Calfreisen is listed in the register of “village sites of national importance” (ISOS). The mountain Montalin (2,266m), close to the city of Chur, is a nice excursion destination in summer as well as in winter. The view from the peak on the Grisons Alps and the Grisons Rheintal is simply breathtaking.
Am 22. Juli und 7. Oktober 2023, jeweils von 15.00-16.00 Uhr, führt die ausgebildete Kirchen- und Kulturführerin Sidonia Kasper fachkundig durch die Kirche Lüen und erzählt über die Waltensburger Meisterwerke. Die Wandmalereien der im Jahr 1084 erbauten, denkmalgeschützten Kirche in Lüen wurden im Zuge des reformierten Bilderverbots überdeckt und erst im Jahr 1926 freigelegt. In den Führungen wird das bildnerische Werk des Waltensburger Meisters beleuchtet und in die Geschichte, Kultur und Landschaft Graubündens eingebettet.